Superman or Dead Man?

I recently started training for SORBA-RAMBO’s 4 Ways in a Day time trial at Big Creek.  The 4 ways are XC (in both directions), Downhill, Slalom, and a brand new 750’ long climb with an average slope of 14% called “El Scorcho”that’s nestled in the heart of the freeride section.  Today I was able to ride the downhill, slalom, El Schorcho, and the XC trail in the clockwise direction.  I rode for an hour and a half with about 50 minutes at what I consider to be “race pace” after the dismal winter we’ve been having.  The XC tried to kick my butt and I need to knock off 5 minutes off the time I recorded today to be competitive in the race.  But the special thing is there’s a King of Big Creek division for anyone who does all 4 ways.  Last year there were only sixteen people who competed in the King category, so I’m hoping to put the hurt on some people with my 14 year-old GT.  I just hope I don’t break my bike before the end of the month so that I can knock one of my 2010 goals off my list early in the year.

On a whim I decided to wear my heart rate monitor and I was averaging 174 BPM.  I know I need to get this number way down for my regular rides, even with the race pace riding I was doing.  But the big surprise when I got done riding was my max HR of 245!  I must be Superman, because that would have killed mere mortals.

Leave a Reply

